So many Limes…

IMG_0573

I recently hosted a small gathering at my house in anticipation for Festival Acadiane.  On the menu: margaritas!  Unfortunately…or maybe fortunately in the sense that I was able to function the next morning…I did not use as many limes in the making of drinks as I had anticipated. Side Note: there is a great recipe for the perfect Margarita here from the folks at Deadspin.com.

So, what to do with an excess amount of limes when you’re not in the mood for limeade and have already had too many margaritas to want to do it again?

IMG_0634Citrus fruit makes a great base for marinades, and I knew I had some pork chops in the fridge just waiting for a good a citrus bath.

Whenever I cook, I always try to think of the things I have in my cupboards before heading to a recipe book or the grocery store.  I knew I had excess limes, so that was a must, but I also have a shocking amount of honey.  I don’t know what it is, but when I see local honey or a pretty glass jar, I just can’t help myself!  I moved four jars of honey from NY to LA…don’t judge!

IMG_0638

Once I knew the foundations of my marinade, I went online to find a good recipe.  I was in luck, and found a simple one that included the following (the recipe was for chicken, but I knew the flavors would work with pork as well):

juice of three limes

2 cloves of garlic

two tbsp of honey

salt and pepper to taste

The original recipe called for a few more things that I didn’t happen to have, and, like I said, I was looking for simple.  So, I stuck with the above basics.

1) Place the pork chops in a baking dish, salt and pepper to taste (both sides)

2) Mix together the honey, garlic, and lime juice

3) Pour marinade over the pork.  Cover in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour.

IMG_0640When you’re ready for dinner, set the oven to 350 degrees.  Don’t forget to remove the plastic wrap…

Bake the pork chops at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes depending on the thickness.  Longer for chicken.

IMG_0664The final product was really good, sweet and tangy at the same time. But, as you may have noticed in the above photo…still so many limes!

Another option if you don’t feel like cooking right away, but don’t want to lose the citrus fruit, is to juice and freeze them.  I juiced the rest of the limes, and put the juice into an ice-cube tray. When it is frozen, take out the cubes and put them in a container in your freezer.  Fresh juice at your fingertips!

IMG_0682Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “So many Limes…

    • Also if you have far too many limes, lime custard is great, then you can put all the egg whites in ice cube trays and freeze them for later egg white soufflés.

      • You know I was going to call you about the margaritas because at one point I couldn’t find the Triple Sec:-)

        Great idea for the custard…who knew there were so many uses for ice-cube trays!

  1. You know daughter, you could have asked me for the recipe:) You are becoming quite the cook though and I’m very proud of you, you are not scared to tackle anything new. Miss you. Love mom.

Leave a Reply

