Winter Hits Louisiana (finally)

 

frozenLAI’ll be honest, when I heard the winter weather advisory yesterday, I thought nothing would come of it.  I chuckled a little inside when I heard that schools had already been cancelled and it wasn’t even noon yet.  However, around midnight, I heard the unmistakable tink, tink, tink of an ice storm.

IMG_1172 IMG_1180 IMG_1173 We woke this morning to find the closest thing to a winter wonderland I think we will see here in Arcadiana. Louisiana, as you can imagine, does not really have a plan when it comes to ice. It was precarious enough on the sidewalks as I shuffled around the house taking pictures, I can’t imagine what it is like on the roads.  If you’re in the area, I wouldn’t go out today.  I already saw one truck slide right through the stop light that is on the corner of our street.

IMG_1175 IMG_1176At this point, we’ve really come to understand the repercussions of living in a raised house.  These floors are COLD!  Seriously, like ice cold!  I can hear animals rustling around in the frozen leaves under the floor boards (Lola found this particularly disturbing for about five minutes, but has since come to terms with the fact that she cannot scratch through the floor to the critters below…she’s napping peacefully now). And now it’s time to make another pot of coffee and try to keep our feet off the floor!

Till next time…signature

 

6 thoughts on “Winter Hits Louisiana (finally)

  1. Pingback: Photography Styling Challenge #8: Patterns | A Tree Grows in the Bayou

Leave a Reply

