Nerd Status: Boss

nerd statusToday is Friday, and it is the second day in our four-day Fall Break.  Yesterday, Keegan and I took a trip to the Halloween store, perused, but didn’t buy anything.  I feel like that could be an appropriate metaphor for my interaction with this blog over the past few months.  I’ve been online, thinking about posts that I want to do, but I never felt committed to anything.  Well, that time has finally passed.  I’m sitting at my computer and actually typing something not related to school.33

Actually, what I should say is not for school, as this post has to do with my work as a PhD student.  Okay, I know what you’re thinking…who wants to read about school?  Really, this is a post about how I leveled-upped in the nerd world. Recently I had to do a presentation on The Lady’s Weekly Miscellany for an Early American Literature class I’m taking.  This was a weekly magazine published for the education and entertainment of the fairer sex during the early 19th century in both England and America.

But wait, there’s more. Before I get into the details of this project, I thought I would share with you some insight into my inherent nerdom, which,  like every literature nerd, started with Shel Silverstein.  Libraries have always been my favorite places to go.  As a child, I coveted a quiet place on the floor in the corner of the library next to the poetry section.  I think I could honestly say that Silverstein’s Where the Sidewalk Ends was the catalyst for my long love affair with literature.shel-silverstein-where-the-sidewalk-ends-book-cover

A few years ago, I took a trip to Washington D.C to do some research on Elizabeth Madox Roberts, a 20th-century American author.  I dragged a friend down with me under the pretense that this would be like a vacation: we would do some sightseeing around the national monuments, go shopping, and visit the museums.  But, really, this was all a rouse to get into the Library of Congress’s Manuscript Division.  Never have I felt more like a scholar then when I was getting my photo taken for my Reader Identification Card–which I still have even though it is long expired (I wrote about this on my old blog a few years ago…if you’re interested, you can read more about it here).

Now, back to the present day.  As I was researching for the Lady’s Weekly I found that editions of the magazine from 1806 were available in the micro-form section of our library.  Honestly, I have only ever seen a micro-form machine on TV, but even then, I always thought it looked like the coolest thing.  Yes, that’s right.  At this moment, you are realizing that this post is completely about the kicks I get out of doing research.  No DIY posts or food recipes today.  I’m 100% student and loving every minute of it!  I love it so much, that I called my dear husband over to come and watch me revel in the beauty of this relic from the 1980s.

IMG_0008 IMG_0002 IMG_0003IMG_0001 IMG_0007

Yeah, it was a pretty big deal.  My only regret, that I don’t have an action shot of me working.  So now my secret life as a giant literature nerd has been exposed, but really, was it ever a secret to begin with?

signature

Leave a Reply

