Watcha waiting, watcha waiting for?

After a much needed hiatus, this blog is back in action.  Last semester was a fhpc0twhirlwind and things like blogging just needed to take a backseat while I tried to realign my life.  At this point, I’m happy to report that things are back in order and thus the chronicling of my life in the bayou shall continue *frenzied applause* *appreciative bow*

You may be surprised to learn (or not if your close to me and noticed my relentless camera snapping) that despite the stress of the past few months, I was pretty diligent about capturing special moments on film.  While I haven’t blogged about anything for awhile, I do, in fact, have a lot of stories on the back burner.  The question for today is…where to begin?  Though today’s wintery weather makes me want to flashback all the way to the summer and share some pics of a beautiful DIY bridal shower I helped put together, I think I will start with some of the more recent events…like this 4,000 mile road trip my husband and I just completed…cat in tow. 10507046_10100432125049949_2421991294529423751_o

How did we manage this with a cat…an animal notorious for it’s anti-travel, anti-anything-besides-napping sentiment? Truthfully, I don’t know how we got so lucky to have such a super lazy cat, but, seriously, she pretty much slept for 8-9 hour 9B-71565-64206K-catstretches only waking up when the ride got really twisty (in West Virginia and Upstate NY) or the trip lasted longer than 10 hours. I also recommend this calming collar from Sentry.  It replicates pheromones from the mother cat and, no exaggeration, as soon as we put it on Lola, she lays down.  The only down side is that the collar is coated in a white powder which kind of gets all over the place when you are first putting it on your cat, but it smells nice and is easy to clean up, so not a big deal there.

Here are some pics of her being too cool for all of the shenanigans we put her through:

10435029_10100411232393999_6413379713434070106_n

10408509_10100414157052959_9058011787880539169_n

In 4,000 miles, over 60 hours of driving, and eight scheduled stops at the homes of various friends and family members there are many stories to tell, but for now, I will share some of my favorites from a trip we took into NYC with my brother, his wife, and some of my oldest and dearest friends.  It actually turned into a bit of a food and drink tour, which I am 100% okay with.  Here’s an outline of what we did:

1. Snack Stop:  Hotdogs from Papaya Dog (on the corner of E 33rd St @ 5th Ave)–two hot dogs and drink for 4.99.  It was a much needed protein boost before we began our trek downtown.

2. The Brazen Fox (106 3rd Avenue):  We were originally going to get a drink at Rolf’s German Restaurant (notorious for its holiday decor), but the line was around the block..ain’t nobody got time for that! So we moseyed down the street and found The Brazen Fox.  White Russians were in order, and it was GLORIOUS! The main restaurant was fairly busy, but the hostess led us upstairs where we basically had a private bar all to ourselves.  That, combined with the views of NYC all lit up for the holidays, made this feel like the perfect pit-stop on our way to find some authentic Ramen.

SONY DSC SONY DSC




3. The Bourgeois Pig (111 East 7th Street): This is one of my favorite wine bars in the city and, as my friends can attest, I pretty much stop in here every time I’m in the area.  This time it was Happy Hour…which meant BOGO Bottles of wine.  JACKPOT!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC

4. Minca Ramen Factory (536 East 5th Street):  If you are looking for some legit Ramen, look no further.  This place is SMALL and BUSY, but the cramped conditions are sooooo worth it.  Despite how tiny the place looks when you walk in, they managed to somehow magically fit our party of six…

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC

5. Good Beer (422 East 9th Street): a small craft beer shop with a surprisingly wide variety of local and international beers to sample and an even larger selection to buy.   There’s a small, quiet area to sit and enjoy the beers they have on tap with some light pub food and friendly conversation.

SONY DSC

6. The Edge Bar (95 E 3rd St b/t 1st Ave & 2nd Ave in East Village)–We walked in here by accident, but the exposed brick, pool tables and darts made us feel right at home.  We got there fairly early in the evening and basically had the place to ourselves.  Easy-going atmosphere.  The perfect place to meet up with a group a friends and then continue on to eat most of Manhattan:-)

SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC

7. Dumpling Man (100 Saint Marks Place)–because all of that pool playing deserves dumpling rewards.  These are some of my favorite dumplings in the city–cheap and delicious.  I’m not embarrassed to admit that I have had dreams about their soup dumplings…go there…now.

SONY DSCSONY DSC SONY DSC

8. Boozy Brunch at The Crooked Knife (29 East 30th Street).  Our food Tour of NYC appropriately ended the next morning with some much-needed (bottomless) mimosas and a proper Irish Fry-up…not a breakfast that one eats lightly.

SONY DSC SONY DSCSONY DSCAll in all, that day, a boozy food tour of lower Manhattan is definitely high on my countdown of the top ten experiences we had on this road trip.  So, for now, Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, and all those good things I should have wished ya’ll much earlier!  Till next time…

signature

One thought on “Watcha waiting, watcha waiting for?

  1. Pingback: Travel Tips and Essentials | A Tree Grows in the Bayou

Leave a Reply

