I Ain’t Afraid of no Ghost!

Untitled

I’ve never hosted a Halloween Party.  There. I said it.  I don’t know how it happened, but it’s the truth.  All these years and never once did I invite a group of people to come over in costume, consume mass quantities of alcohol, and gorge on candy and chocolate.  That will be remedied this year.

Once K and I decided to host a Halloween party (um, last week!), I immediately logged into Amazon and began combing its warehouse for cheap decorations that would still be scary–even though this is Halloween, I still want the decor to be sophisticated.  That’s not too much to ask, right?  Okay, so buying Halloween decorations online, when you’re trying to keep the bottom line down and the quality up, is surprisingly difficult.  I would find things that looked like crap and would cost more than a disembodied arm or leg. Plus, I’m obviously running out of time to order things and have them delivered by the 31st.poe__s_raven_by_twistedsynapses-d3keb3l

Then, I had the bright idea to go to the Salvation Army.  Duh! Oh, hey, Amanda, remember that time you started a blog to share all the really cool thrifty projects you make? Yeah, maybe now is a good time to use those skills.

I keep a bag by the door that is reserved for donations.  Anytime I see a book, a piece of clothing, or a kitchen utensil that I no longer need/use I put it in the bag. Once it’s full, off to the Salvation Army.  There were a few things in the bag this go around, so I grabbed the donations bag and headed to the thrift shop. I don’t know what it was about this past Friday, but the offerings were good.  Lafayette is pretty hit or miss when it comes to thrifting, especially now that the big antpride-and-prejudice-and-zombies0ique market closed down, but on this day, I found exactly what I was looking for: Creepy angel vases, old candelabras, and some cute little bird figurines (all at or under $1.00–my kind of budget.  The birds were each .49 cents!).

All of these things are going to be transformed with a bit of paint and maybe a spiderweb or two.  I don’t want to give it all away before the party (plus I’m still working on most of these projects), but here’s a sneak peek at the two birds I’ve painted.  They were, perhaps, golden turtle doves.  Now, I like to call them my murder birds.  Behold:

image2

image1

I’m excited to have some projects on the horizon, especially now that I’ve got a little down time after passing my first two big PhD exams.  Having things to paint and color makes me feel relaxed, ever since I was a child.  I don’t have to think; I can just create, and who doesn’t love painting devil eyes and blood on little bird faces?

Stay tuned for an update on how the rest of the decorations turned out, plus a Party-day reveal!  Happy Halloween!

signature

Leave a Reply

